Connect with us


Sealed PDP Secretariat belongs to Abia Govt – Judicial panel



The chairman of the Abia State judicial panel of inquiry on the recovery of government property and funds, Justice Florence Doruoha-Igwe (retd) has ordered the temporary sealing-off of Plot 43 Finbars Road Umuahia, pending the conclusion of the investigation on the structure.

The structure was, on Wednesday, sealed by personnel believed to be from Umuahia Capital Development Authority, UCDA.

Doruoha-Igwe who gave the order on Wednesday during the judicial panel’s sitting, explained that the panel observed that the structure housing PDP’s secretariat belongs to the Abia State government.

She, therefore, directed the senior lead counsel to the panel, H. N. Doruoha, to serve notice on the Abia State chairman of PDP, Alwell Asiforo Okere, and the immediate past Commissioner for Lands, Chidi Onwuchuruba, to appear before the panel on February 16, to give more details on the PDP structure.

READ ALSO  Chicago University confirms Tinubu’s certificate

Meanwhile, the Permanent Secretary, Government House, Benson Ojeikere, and some former permanent secretaries in the state also appeared before the panel to respond to the ongoing investigation of their days in office.

Ojeikere said that on assumption of office, he allegedly found out about improper accounting records, documentation of government projects and activities, and bequeathing of official vehicles to government appointees which he alleged, were done without due process.

Also speaking to the panel, a former permanent secretary of the Abia State Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources, Mba Okereke, disclosed that as a permanent secretary, he was not in charge of revenue collection or project implementation.

READ ALSO  PDP Chairman resigns in Kogi

In her submission, Abia State’s former Solicitor General and former Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Justice, Mrs Uzoamaka Uche Ikonne, said there was no employment racketeering or lopsided employment while she was the permanent secretary.